Catching Excellence: The History of the Green Bay Packers in Eleven Games


SKU: 9781493062843 Category: Tag:
Publisher: Lyons Press
Product ID: 938288


Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection we can catch excellence. –Vince Lombardi Since their founding in 1921, the Green Bay Packers have played countless games that have thrilled pro football fans across the country. In this book, a veteran sportswriter examines eleven contests that have defined the team over different eras in its 101-year history. From the season-ending win in 1929 that delivered the Packers’ first NFL championship, to Vince Lombardi’s first victory as Packers coach in 1959, winning both the “Ice Bowl” and first Super Bowl in 1967, and on through the Favre and Rodgers eras in a new century, Chuck Carlson goes beyond events on the field to trace the significance of each of these signature games in the arc of Packers history.

ISBN: 9781493062843
Publisher: Lyons Press
Pub Date: 10/2022
Format: Hardcover

Additional information